Anti-Acne Regimen (so far)

Late 2015 and early into 2016, my face (specifically my jaw and chin area) started sprouting clusters of pimples . I’ve been acne-prone since I hit puberty, but this was the first time since high school that pimples popped up like crazy on my face; I usually get just a couple here and there. I think it must be because of stress brought on by being org president because not too long ago, I enjoyed relatively clear skin despite being exposed daily to pollution.

Anyway, I knew it was bad because people were beginning to notice. They would ask me, “What happened to your face? You were clear-skinned before.” I haven’t been truly clear-skinned for more than a decade, but I’m glad they thought I was. Heh. Others asked, “How’d you get those rashes on your face?” And I had to explain that they were pimples, not rashes.

A friend told me of an affordable solution; she said her dermatologist recommended it to her. I bought a capsule of clindamycin hydrochloride (8 pesos each at The Generics Pharmacy), which is an antibiotic. I mixed it into a 225-mL bottle of astringent (netizens suggest Eskinol, but I’m currently using Kokuryu), and applied it to my face after cleansing like I usually do.

I also read about Katialis as an effective spot treatment on kikaysikat.com, so I immediately got one. It’s only around 20 pesos. I apply it on existing and healing acne (so basically my entire lower face) after astringent and moisturizer only at night, because I don’t imagine it will go well underneath makeup. It smells strongly of sulfur, but I don’t mind. It doesn’t make pimples disappear overnight (trust me, nothing will; healing takes time), but it dries them up and speeds up healing.

Katialis

Image from ebay.com

For my facial wash, I alternate between St. Ives Green Tea Gel Cleanser (it has salicylic acid) and Ilog Maria Honey Propolis soap.

St. Ives Green Tea Gel Cleanser

Image from amazon.com

This combination seems to have worked because pimples (cystic or otherwise) have mostly stopped popping up on my face. Everything seems to have gone back to normal; I still get zits now and then, but nothing I haven’t already been experiencing since I was a teenager.

I read about a study that showed a difference in the strains of P. acnes bacteria present in clear-skinned and acne-prone individuals. If clindamycin and Katialis work, then it seems my acne is triggered by an abundance of the bad strain.

Recently, Helen of Lucky Citrine informed me that I won her AcneCare giveaway last December. Silly me; I must have forgotten all about that giveaway! Fortunately, she held on to the prizes for me. I received a set of AcneCare products–two soaps, a bottle of lactoferrin capsules, a bottle of drying lotion, and a bottle of Snow Skin Whitening Cream.

The AcneCare soap seems to be harsh; I feel my skin burning when I leave it on for more than 2 minutes. It’s also drying, but what’s weird is that it doesn’t remove makeup well. I’ll continue using this for a while because it doesn’t seem to have other adverse effects, but I can’t use it twice a day because it will dry out my skin, thereby exacerbating oiliness.

I have been using the drying lotion in lieu of Katialis. It’s very similar to Mario Badescu drying lotion, but it only costs 299 pesos. I can’t determine if it has any effect on my zits; we’ll see in time.

Thus far, I think the most effective item I’ve recently introduced in my skin care regimen is clindamycin. Adding it to my usual regimen without changing anything else really made a difference. Let’s see what will happen once I use up my bottle of astringent; I can’t use clindamycin continuously because I might develop antibiotic resistance. The P. acnes on my skin might evolve into super-bacteria that will cause angrier zits. Yikes!

Or perhaps I’m getting less pimples because I’ve been experiencing almost no stress lately. I wonder!

Thoughts?

