MAC Frost Lipstick in Angel

1

2

Price: ~P1000 for 3g

Available at MAC counters

Ingredients: Ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, trioctyldodecyl citrate, glyceryl triacetyl hydroxystearate, Simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) oil, Euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, octyldodecanol, beeswax, tricaprylin, ozokerite, Copernica cerifera (carnauba) wax, cetyl ricinoleate, microcrystalline wax, tocopherol, ascorbyl palmitate, calcium sodium borosilicate, alumina, calcium aluminum borosilicate, tin oxide, silica, vanillin. May contain: Mica, titanium dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), bismuth oxychloride (CI 15850), red 21(CI 45380), red 28 lake (CI 45410), red 30 lake (CI 73360), red 33 lake (CI 17200), yellow 5 lake (CI 19140), yellow 6 lake (CI 15985), yellow 10 lake (CI 47005)

Just a glimpse of my reviews and you’ll know I’d never buy this lipstick for myself (at least not right now). Hah! This was my brother’s Christmas gift to me. I’ve read that this Angel is one of MAC’s bestselling lipsticks, so that’s probably why it was the shade he got.

Angel is a pale pink frost lipstick. I’m glad it’s not shimmery, but the formula is definitely frost. Frost lipsticks always look patchy upon first application on my lips, so I always have to blend the color with my ring finger.

I usually avoid pale lipsticks, but this one expanded my repertoire of wearable colors. It doesn’t look bad on me, after all.

By the way, I have something similar to Angel in my stash. Look:

Paper swatch

On paper, both MAC Angel and Avon Ultra Color Carnation look like warm pinks, although Angel is lighter.

Comparison swatch

Top lip: MAC Angel | Bottom lip: Avon Ultra Color Carnation

On my lips, though, they look almost the same–pale pink.

Here’s a full lip swatch of Angel:

Lip swatchSo you see, Angel is a tad paler than Carnation. What I do with this lipstick so I don’t look like I’m sick is top it with a pale, but warmer, pink gloss. Angel + pink blush = sweet!

On its own, Angel tends to dry my lips. But with my usual combo (a lick of balm underneath and some gloss on top), my lips stay moisturized. Staying power is average. There is a hint of vanilla scent, but the lipstick itself doesn’t taste like anything.

This lipstick would probably look best on pale skin with pink undertones, but it looks fine on my medium, yellow-toned skin. If you like the color but don’t want to shell out a lot of money for it, try Avon Ultra Color Carnation!

6 comments on “MAC Frost Lipstick in Angel

  1. rattusyu says:

    I like the shade. Looks perfect on you! =)

  2. Dawn Llanera says:

    I was thinking of getting Angel but I realized that it’s too sheer for me… but I love the shade still. I’ll look for a similar color with more coverage na lang. 😛

  3. Matromao says:

    Love that you did a comparison with Avon. Their lipstick lines feature wearable colors, so crowd-pleasers from higher-end brands like MAC Angel can easily be duped there.

    • Aviva says:

      “Crowd-pleaser” is the correct term; I find that Avon releases the same lipstick colors over and over. But for persons like me who prefer wearable shades, Avon’s lipstick collections are a good choice.

Thoughts?

