Essence Lash Mania Reloaded Mascara

1

~P199 for 10mL

Available at Essence counters.

Ingredients: Aqua (water), synthetic beeswax, paraffin, glyceryl stearate, acacia senegal gum, butylene glycol, oryza sativa (rice) bran wax, stearic acid, palmitic acid, polybutene, vp/eicosene copolymer, carnauba (copernicia cerifera) wax, aminomethyl propanol, hydroxyethylcellulose, tropolone, phenoxyethanol, CI 77499 (iron oxides)

Click on the photos to see the full-size versions.

Essence offers a lot of mostly non-waterproof mascaras with nothing priced over P500 (or even P400, as far as I was able to ascertain), so it could be hard to choose. The saleslady, saying that this mascara gave a false-lash effect, recommended it when I gave up trying to decide which one I should get.

The Lash Mania Reloaded mascara is a non-waterproof, black mascara housed in a fat silver tube. It doesn’t have anything but the usual mascara smell to it. The brush is also quite fat but conical, as you can see below; I use the pointed end to deposit mascara on the outer corners of my lashes.2

The formula is dry and mousse-like, even at the outset. Unlike other mascaras with wet formulas, I actually think this mascara performs best when new; because it was dry to begin with, it only gets drier the longer you have it, which means you have to work longer to achieve the usual effect you get with it.

Here’s how my bare lashes look:

Bare eye

And here’s how they look with two coats of Lash Mania Reloaded:

Lash Mania Reloaded

Lash Mania ReloadedSee how they went from barely-there to darker and (relatively) longer? I don’t know if anyone, especially persons knowledgeable about makeup, would mistake them for false lashes, but I’m completely satisfied with the lengthening and thickening effect.

Another great feature of this mascara is that it isn’t prone to clumping. Sure, put on 10 layers and it’ll clump, but I can swipe on 3 layers and my lashes still don’t stick together. I keep it down to 2 layers, though, because too much mascara weighs the lashes down, making them droopy at the end of the day.

Because this is a non-waterproof mascara, I get a tiny bit of barely noticeable undereye flaking as the hours pass by, even if I don’t touch my eyes at all. It’s nothing a simple swipe of the finger can’t solve, though.

Oh yes, I love this mascara. My lashes look so pretty with it on. I would repurchase–but I have to try the other Essence mascaras first!

Thoughts?

