San San Thick Lash Waterproof Mascara

4 Price: P125 for 10g

Available at HBC stores nationwide.

Ingredients: Aqua, C10-12 alkane/cycloalkane, kaolin, silicone gel, calcium pantothenate (vitamin B5), retinyl palmitate (vitamin A), ascorbyl palmitate (vitamin C), tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), propyl paraben, CI 77499 I’ve tried San San mascaras before and they performed well for their price, so I thought I’d get one again. There are two variants of the regular mascaras: Thick Lash and Long Lash. I bought the Thick Lash variant because I wanted to volumize my sparse lashes. It doesn’t actually thicken them that much, but it darkens and makes them look longer. So yeah, it’s one of those basic everyday mascaras, which I happen to prefer. When this mascara was new, it was so wet that it did not make any difference on my eyelashes. It weighed down the curl and didn’t lengthen the hairs at all. To top it all off, the brush kept smudging pigment on my eyelids, which meant I had to take extra time to remove the stains. However, I’m glad I stuck with this mascara because the formula got better as it got drier. I still got smudges on my eyelids every time I used it, but it was able to give me length and a bit of volume at the roots. One coat gives an MEBB (my eyelashes but better) look while two coats give an illusion of thicker lashes. More coats and it would clump. The brush is spiky and somewhat bendy. It takes some getting used to; I poked my eyes a couple of times before getting the hang of it. I don’t use this on my lower lashes because the brush is too big; I don’t want to end up with smudges of mascara down there as well. 1 This is how my bare eyelashes look. The photo was shot using a DSLR so you can see my natural eye color. Note my short and straight lashes.

Bare eye
While this is how they look with two coats of San San Thick Lash Waterproof Mascara: 3 2 This mascara survives my very oily eyelids, droplets of water, and some tears (without rubbing, of course), but it’s not really waterproof. Water-resistant, maybe. In any case, it sure is tougher to remove than non-waterproof mascaras. I can’t remove it with soap and water alone; I have to swipe at my eyelashes several times with makeup remover to get all of the mascara off. The good thing about this product is that it flakes (less messy) when removed instead of smudging. I will most probably not repurchase this mascara because it’s next to useless when it’s new, and I hate how it leaves smudges on my eyelids no matter how careful I am. Besides, there are bazillions of other drugstore mascaras to buy. I’ve heard good things about Essence mascaras!

Thoughts?

