Artdeco Camouflage Cream in #8

Artdeco Camouflage Cream #8Price: P450 for 4.5g

Available at Beauty Bar outlets with Artdeco counters.

Ingredients: Paraffinum liquidum (mineral oil), hydrogenated polyisobutene, octyldodecanol, euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, magnesium myristate, cetyl palmitate, cera alba (beeswax), petrolatum, copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax, tocopherol, oleth-10, propylene glycol, BHT, ascorbyl palmitate, glyceryl stearate, citric acid, parfum (fragrance), amyl cinnamal, benzyl alcohol, benzyl salicylate, citronellol, coumarin, butylphenyl methylpropional, linalool, alpha-isomethyl ionone, cinnamyl alcohol, hexyl cinnamal, geraniol, benzyl benzoate. May contain: CI 19140 (yellow 5), CI 19140 (yellow 5 lake), CI 75470 (carmine), CI 77007 (ultramarines), CI 77491 (iron oxides), CI 77492 (iron oxides), CI 77499 (iron oxides), CI 77891 (titanium dioxide)

Needing a fairly affordable concealer with decent coverage for my post-acne marks, I searched the beauty blog world for recommendations and stumbled upon Artdeco Camouflage Cream, which has generally positive reviews. It comes in this tiny pan with a magnetic back so you can place it on an empty makeup palette, but I like its small, travel-friendly size so I use it as is. Don’t be fooled by its size, though; I’ve been using it heavily for about four months now and I haven’t hit pan yet.

Shade #8 is the best match for my NC30-ish skin; it disappears into my skin tone after blending. It does have a thicker and harder texture than most concealers in the market, but I didn’t find it hard to blend at all. In colder weather it turns hard and you need more time to blend it, but it still melts easily into the skin.

I was severely disappointed with this product at first. Other bloggers’ reviews made me expect it to fully cover my acne scars and last all day. Well, it did neither. I tried different techniques including applying the concealer with my fingers, with a concealer brush, with a sponge, over foundation, under foundation, et cetera, et cetera…nothing. My acne scars aren’t even that bad, but it couldn’t fully cover them up. The best it could do was reduce their appearance by around 85%. Also, it slid off after just four to five hours even if I was diligent about powdering.

But I had to live with it; after all, I just shelled out P450 (not a meager amount for me) for this product, so I might as well use it. I accepted the fact that it can’t fully conceal my acne scars, so that’s that. And I found that it works as an undereye concealer too, so I didn’t have to use a separate product for that area. Lastly, I discovered during this hot weather that I can skip foundation and just apply this concealer on my acne scars and under my eyes then finish off with powder. It doesn’t slide off with sweat as much as foundation does. Great! I’m considering not repurchasing foundation anymore, which will save me money, not to mention that skipping foundation altogether will make dressing up significantly quicker.

So despite my initial disappointment, I would still recommend Artdeco Camouflage Cream especially if you don’t have an extensive amount of covering up to do. It has a heavier coverage than most drugstore concealers, and its harder texture means it won’t come off with perspiration that easily.

2 comments on “Artdeco Camouflage Cream in #8

  1. Thanks for sharing, I’d think it’s still a fair product for the price.

Thoughts?

