Baking soda as mouthwash…among other things

 

Baking soda works wonderfully as silver cleaner, but who knew it had several other uses? I read in my baking soda box that it could be gargled for fresh breath, so I decided to check it out.

MOUTH DEODORIZER

Brush your teeth first, of course, then just add half a teaspoon of baking soda to half a glass of water (too much and it would be salty), swish and gargle for a minute or so, then rinse. It leaves the mouth odor-free and takes away lingering tastes of fish, onion, and garlic. I’m really happy to have found an affordable and effective mouthwash substitute! Commercial mouthwash is so expensive compared to a 21-peso box of baking soda, which will last a long time. Yay!

SILVER CLEANER

I saved money yet again by discovering that baking soda makes an excellent silver cleaner. Put silver in an aluminum container or one that’s lined with aluminum foil (shiny side up). Make sure every piece touches the aluminum. Sprinkle liberally with baking soda. Pour hot water. Let everything soak for a few minutes. Voila! Silver sparkles like new.

REFRIGERATOR DEODORIZER

Stick a bowl of baking soda inside your fridge and it will absorb all the odors in there. Throw it away when it smells like your fridge instead of like baking soda–odorless.

CLARIFYING SHAMPOO

I’ve used baking soda a few times to rid my hair of buildup, and it really works! I mix a handful with my shampoo just because I like to lather up, but you can just mix it with some water. Don’t use too often or your hair will dry up.

These are just a few of the many uses of baking soda. Thank goodness for this wonderful product! It saves me money!

Thoughts?

