San San HD Foundation in Olive

1Price: P190 for 25mL

Available at HBC stores nationwide.

Ingredients: Aqua, ethylhexyl palmitate, titanium dioxide, glycerin, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, caprylic/capric triglyceride, isononyl isononanoate, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, butylene glycol, dimethicone, talc (and) triethoxycaprylylsilane, beeswax, cyclopentasiloxane, phenoxyethanol, retinyl palmitate (vitamin A), ascorbic acid (vitamin C), tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), caprylyl glycol (and) ethylhexylglycerin. May contain: CI 77492, CI 77491, CI 77499

HBC frequently holds sales, so I got this for P180, making it even more of a steal than it already is. I love the new packaging! This comes in a metallic purple box that matches the cap of the bottle. I personally think purple looks better than their usual sky blue theme, although if they want a professional look, black is the way to go.

The bottle comes with a pump. Yay for easy dispensing! It’s not as travel-friendly as a plastic tube, but it’s still small enough to fit in a traveling kit.

2

This foundation is available in three shades: natural, beige, and olive. I got olive because it suits my NC30-ish skin the best, BUT it’s a bit orange (as you can see on the photo below) instead of yellow and it’s a shade darker than my skin. Well, a setting powder in the correct shade easily solves that, and I’d rather go with a darker foundation than a lighter one.

3

It has a rather strong coconut/cocoa butter scent that I wish they would get rid of. I don’t really mind, but I bet a good number of customers will. Based on the beauty blogs I read, consumers prefer their makeup unscented.

The product has a thick texture much like their BB cream, although it does not feel heavy on the face (at least to me). It’s so thick, though, that it clogs my angled flat top brush after just one use. My usual method of brush cleaning (that is, soaking my brushes in body wash for a few minutes and scrubbing them with my fingers while rinsing in water) cannot remove this foundation; I have to scrub the hairs with a little detergent powder to get all the product out.

Despite the imperfect shade match, I love this foundation! It evens out my skin tone and conceals minor imperfections with just one layer. I add a second layer to the sides of my face to further conceal darker marks. It can’t cover them completely, but it sure does an excellent job of reducing their appearance by 80 percent!

I do wish it would last longer, though, because I’m usually out of the house for 12 hours or so. This foundation starts to fade on my oily skin after around five hours no matter if I put a thin or thick layer, so at the end of the day, my pores and all but the smallest and lightest blemishes are already peeking through. Oh well, one can’t have everything for P190.

Yes, I would definitely repurchase! I gravitate towards affordable makeup because I’m afraid of spending money on mid- and high-end makeup only to end up disappointed. Thank goodness for brands like HBC that offer good quality makeup for budget-conscious consumers.

 

One comment on “San San HD Foundation in Olive

  1. Aviva says:

    Update: I’m almost done with my bottle of this foundation, so that means it lasted me at least 8 months (used 4-5x a week). It now costs P205.

Thoughts?

