San San CYO Eyeshadows in Blackground and Deep Earth Brown

4Price: P50 each

Available at all HBC stores nationwide.

Ingredients: Mica, zea mays (corn) starch, kaolin, nylon-12, silica, zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, boron nitride, magnesium stearate, octyl palmitate, tocopheryl acetate (vitamin E), retinyl palmitate (vitamin A), ascorbic acid (vitamin C), C12-15 alkyl benzoate, caprylic/capric triglyceride, coloring agents

San San Create Your Own (CYO) eyeshadows created a buzz in the local blogosphere when they were released. Currently, they come in 20 colors in both shimmery and matte finishes and are sold for only P50 each. They’re more affordable than most local single eyeshadows, and the pans are relatively bigger!

2

That’s my cat’s paw right there, saying “Hi!”

Now, on to the shades I got. Blackground is a slightly shimmery dark gray while Deep Earth Brown is a matte dark brown with no red undertones. I only got these two because I still have my ELF eyeshadow palette. I’m not an eyeshadow person so I don’t need a lot.

3

 

And here are the swatches:

1They’re not very pigmented; I swiped each shadow two to three times on my arm to make them show up more. However, this is actually how I like my eyeshadows. I don’t like pigmented eyeshadows (and pigmented blush too) because they’re more difficult to work with. There’s not much room for mistakes. They take forever to finish up too! For those who like more pigmented eyeshadows, don’t worry; the other shimmery shades are packed with color.

I use my ever-reliable ELF eyeshadow primer on my lids before applying eyeshadow, and these ones from San San last all day (like more than 12 hours) with minimal creasing and fading.

Aaaand I found another use for Deep Earth Brown! I’m now using it as eyebrow powder. Surprisingly, I find it easier to use than eyebrow pencil. It complements my dark brown hair, although I’d like to try taupe to see if it goes well on me too.

I won’t be repurchasing anytime soon because I know it would take me years to finish up these eyeshadows. But I definitely recommend them to people like me who like affordable makeup and are okay with not-so-pigmented eyeshadows! You can buy only those colors that you like. The downside is that it’s not so convenient to carry several pans of eyeshadows in your bag.

 

7 comments on “San San CYO Eyeshadows in Blackground and Deep Earth Brown

  1. Rattus says:

    Same here sis, I’m also using Deep Earth for eyebrows, plus it’s a more inexepensive alternative to the other eyebrow powder in the market. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Aviva says:

    Update: These now cost P60

  3. skinnychiq says:

    Hi there,
    Panu po mgblend ng eyeshadow? Do you use just one color of eyeshadow? Or do you mix and match it with other colors? I apologize I don’t know nothing about doing makeup except for putting a foundation or powder on my face. hehe…

    • Aviva says:

      I use a bullet brush to blend eyeshadows. Sometimes I use just one color; when I have more time, I use two. I learned to apply and blend eyeshadows solely from YouTube tutorials, so I suggest you start from there and practice šŸ™‚

Thoughts?

