Sassy Colors Nail Polish in Touch of Tan

2

Price: P19 for 7mL

Available at Watsons stores nationwide.

Ingredients: Butyl acetate, ethyl acetate, nitrocellulose, acrylates copolymer, isopropyl alcohol, stearalkonium hectorite, colorant

Bloggers are always reviewing high-end polish like Orly, OPI, and whatnot, so why don’t I give you something else for a change? Here’s a brand of nail polish I really like because it’s super affordable, comes in small bottles (I don’t run a nail salon so big bottles of nail polish just dry up on me), is big 3 free, and has a nice formula: Sassy Colors! It’s available in a lot of shades too. I actually have a number of their polishes, but this is the first time I’m reviewing one.

I generally prefer purchasing frosted polish because their texture is more forgiving of minor application mistakes, but I decided to buy a nude creme polish for the very first time just to try it out.

1Meet Touch of Tan, a nude brown shade with a very slight hint of gray. All my other Sassy Colors polishes, which are frosted, have a light, sheer formula that necessitates second or even third coats, so I was surprised to find that this creme one is quite thick and pigmented. I dislike thick polishes; I’ve been applying polish on my toes for years but I still haven’t perfected it, and thick polishes tend to bubble up on me. However, I was able to make this one work.

I’m pleasantly surprised to find that nude polish is actually pretty on the toenails. It’s sort of like my nails but better. And I’m also surprised that this shade worked for my skin tone. Like nude lipstick, nude polish comes in different shades, and what works for one skin tone may not work for the other.

A side note: I had a professional pedicure FOR THE FIRST TIME about two months ago, then had two more afterwards. Isn’t that funny? I’m in my 20s yet I’m new to professional pedicures. Haha! Anyway, I’m glad I did because now my toenails are nicely shaped. I don’t have to worry about the sides digging into the skin of my big toes when they grow long. Now that’s really painful.

So there–Sassy Colors nail polishes are nice and affordable and don’t seem to stain the nails (still, always use a base coat) so I’d definitely repurchase. The only con I can think of is that they chip quicker than high-end nail polish. Well, that’s a given. Also, I’ve noticed that high-end brands have more variety–they have more complex colors and textures. But it’s nice to try everything, right? I’ve tried low-end, mid-range, and high-end brands and they all look good as long as your feet are clean and well-groomed. But definitely go for high-end brands when you’re going on a trip and you want your polish to last long. With high-end brands, I can go for as long as a month without removal. Haha!

3 comments on “Sassy Colors Nail Polish in Touch of Tan

  1. theartofdigitalimages says:

    Reblogged this on the art of digital images.

  2. Nail Geek says:

    Try Sassy’s Nude. It’s a pale pink color and a great dupe for Orly’s Kiss the Bride!

Thoughts?

