Lucas’ Papaw Ointment

Lucas PapawPrice: P450 for 25g

Available at Digital Traincase

Ingredients according to thewellnesswarrior.com.au: Fermented Fresh PawPaw Fruit, Rhus Succedanea Wax, Glycerine, Petrolatum, Canola Oil, Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Beeswax, Corn Starch, Potassium Sorbate (0.1 mg/g)

I’m sorry to say that despite the glowing reviews that seemingly every other blogger out there has given to this product, I’m not really impressed by it, although I’m happy to find that its primary ingredient is papaya and not petrolatum.

As a lip balm, it’s not really different from any other lip balm out there, except that its packaging is not that convenient, at least for me. I need to use my fingers to apply the product to my lips.

As ointment for skin cuts, burns, and all that shiz, the petrolatum helps by forming a protective barrier over the skin trauma, and fermented papaya apparently has antibacterial properties. The ointment doesn’t magically help them heal faster, though, and for major trauma, you need something more than this. Truth be told, you can do without Lucas’ Papaw Ointment; the body is, after all, well equipped to heal itself. And it’s kinda unhygienic to use one product for your lips and for wounds.

So there, I would not be purchasing this product for myself.

4 comments on “Lucas’ Papaw Ointment

  1. I was wondering what was all the hype about this product…Maybe because it was popular among hollywood celebs… Good review 🙂

  2. roscin rosales says:

    Hi, i was planning to buy this pa naman pero thanks for the review.. i think, my sunflower oil would do a lot better than this.. 🙂

    • Aviva says:

      Human Nature’s sunflower oil is P274.75 for 100mL, so it’s definitely more affordable than Lucas Papaw. I haven’t tried it because I’m a virgin coconut oil fan myself, but it has great reviews 🙂

Thoughts?

