Careline Lipstick in Taylor Red

2Price: P100

Available wherever Ever Bilena products are sold; that is, everywhere in the Philippines

This lipstick was an impulse purchase because I have taken a dislike to Ever Bilena’s Love That Red after seeing the same cool red shade on just about every girl in the mall one time. And blue-based colors really aren’t as flattering on me as warm-toned ones.

So I swatched Swift Red and Taylor Red and immediately fell in love with the latter’s gorgeous yellow-toned red shade. Swift Red is more of a pinkish red.

1The warm undertone can be clearly seen, but this lipstick is red. It does not turn orange.

Packaging is cute but flimsy, so I’m careful not to drop it. The bullet protrudes slightly from the container so I can’t help but nick it sometimes when putting the cap back on.

The lipstick has an artificial candy-like watermelon scent, which does not really bother me. It’s neither strong nor lingering, anyhow. It’s pigmented, as you can see from the swatch above, and it glides easily across the lips. Its texture is a bit dry, which is good for a red lipstick since that means it won’t bleed easily, but this is bad news for people with dry lips like me. Even with a lip balm underneath, my lips dry up within a couple of hours with this lipstick. So what I do is put a bit of lip gloss on top to make it more comfortable to wear. I like juicy-looking lips more than matte ones so applying gloss isn’t really a problem for me.

This is how it looks like without gloss:

3

Ah! What a pretty color. It has a teeny bit of frost to it, but nothing too obvious.

Will I repurchase? Probably, yeah! But seeing as I have a lot of lipsticks in my stash, repurchasing will be a long time from now; I can’t seem to finish a single tube. Well, I love this lipstick because the warm red shade flatters my skin tone, it’s very easy to apply as it glides smoothly on the lips, and it’s very affordable!

5 comments on “Careline Lipstick in Taylor Red

  1. Rattus says:

    The shade you’re wearing looks very gorgeous Aviva! I’m glad EB decided to add those new colors. =)

  2. Rattus Choki says:

    The shade you’re wearing looks very gorgeous Aviva! I’m glad EB decided to add those new colors. =)

  3. I was going to buy the purplish shade in this line, the packaging definitely reminds me of wet n wild lipsticks…actually most EB and careline products are reminiscent of popular brands in the US anyway this looks good but I tend to stay away from warm reds. They just don’t look good on me. I don’t get it 😦 I have yellow-olive undertones, but I don’t look “right” when I wear a warm-based red.

Thoughts?

