Liebster Blog Award

LiebsterAward_3lilapples

The Liebster Award is a great way to promote blogs you think should be noticed more because you’re supposed to tag blogs with less than 200 followers. I’m glad to have been tagged by Rattus of Beauty on a Shoestring Budget, and I’m quite excited to do this!

Okay, so here are the rules I gleaned from blogs that have received the Liebster Award. I changed the numbers to 10 instead of 11 because I like even numbers more than odd ones. Haha!

1. You must state 10 facts about yourself.

2. You must answer the 10 questions asked by the person who tagged you.

3. You must create a new set of 10 questions then tag 10 other bloggers (you can’t tag back!). Of course, you must go to their blogs and inform them that you’re giving them the Liebster Award.

That’s it! Now for the answers…

TEN FACTS ABOUT ME

1. I’m currently a game master in an MMORPG and I love it!

2. My hair is naturally curly.

3. My favorite color is red.

4. I like cats better than any other animal.

5. I hate rainy days because they’re depressing and they get my feet wet.

6. I used to be a tutor for elementary students and it taught me to be more patient with children.

7. I love the fighting games Soul Calibur and Tekken, but I’m not really good at them. It’s kinda frustrating to discover that whatever skills I have seem to have a plateau–that is, I can’t seem to get better at these games.

8. I used to dislike e-books, thinking that nothing could beat the feel of real, printed books. Now I prefer them! Haha! Of course, nothing could compare to smelling and feeling the pages of a printed book, but I can’t deny that e-books are so convenient. I mean, I have more than 50 books with me all the time, and they weigh nothing more than my phone. And you can even get them for free!

9. I hate math, but I got a high grade in my psychological statistics subject in college; turns out I’m not really good at abstract stuff like math and philosophy. I can’t wrap my brains around them. But when you connect numbers to concrete stuff (like in statistics), I can understand it.

10. My favorite authors are Ken Follett and Stephen King. They can make anything interesting!

RATTUS’S QUESTIONS

1. What inspired you to start blogging?

Image courtesy of 4freephotos.com

I revived this blog last year because I was inspired by the various beauty blogs I read. I wanted to document my own experiences with beauty products too so they could serve as a reference for myself and for other people. It’s a great way to keep track of what works for me and what doesn’t.

2. What camera do you use and any tips for crisp clear shots?

Sony Xperia SL

Image courtesy of soyacincau.com

I use my phone’s camera. It’s a pink Sony Xperia SL (isn’t it adorable?). Our DSLR is broken, so my phone is all I have right now. If you’re using a phone, better take shots in sunlight for sharp photos with minimal noise. Same is true for DSLRs, though, unless you have a light box.

3. What is your advice to new bloggers?

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

PROOF-READ!

4. What makeup products are you willing to splurge on?

20130125-100559.jpgFoundation, definitely. It serves as a base for everything else, so it must be of good quality. But I’d rather spend on skin care than makeup.

5. What makeup products would you rather not spend so much on?

Orchid2Lipsticks. There are a bazillion affordable and good lipsticks out there; why the heck would I shell out a thousand pesos for one? I’d rather spend that on clothes. I’ve used only affordable lipsticks from reputable brands all my life, and my lips haven’t dried up or darkened yet. And I obviously haven’t died from lead poisoning.

6. A lot of us can live without specific beauty products…what product do you suggest that we do NOT skip at all and why?

Human Nature Peppermint Lip Balm

Human Nature Lip Balm in Peppermint. I know most people like minty lip balms, and this one’s a winner. The minty sensation’s not too strong, either. It’s made of natural ingredients that do not merely sit on the skin to prevent moisture loss. It can be used by men too because it doesn’t have a very shiny finish. Best of all, patronizing Human Nature products supports the Filipino farmers who grow crops used as raw materials for these products. However, if you’re allergic to beeswax, you can’t use this balm.

7. Let’s say I’m a newbie to makeup and virtually know nothing about it. What are your shopping tips when buying makeup if I’m only willing to spend 500 pesos? Specific items, brands, products, why?

Definitely go for local drugstore makeup. They’re the most affordable you can get without compromising quality and safety.

9

BASE: Ever Bilena BB Cream, P195. Light to medium coverage. It’s better suited for dry to normal skin, but I’m oily and I can make it work. Blotting sheets are my best friend.

Concealer ingredients and weight

Here are the ingredients. It has SPF 15!

CONCEALER: San San Concealer, around P100. I’ve had this since May 2012, at least, and I’m not even close to finishing it yet. Medium coverage. Good for undereye circles. Doesn’t completely hide acne marks.

POWDER: Maybelline Clear Smooth All-In-One Shine-Free Foundation To Go, P99. You can use this as a powder foundation and as a retouch powder; just make sure to use a powder brush for retouching so it won’t cake up. Actually, you can skip the BB cream I mentioned above if you want to; just apply concealer on your problematic areas then top it off with this powder.

20130203-141608.jpg

BROWS: Ever Bilena Advance Perfect Eyebrow in Dark Brown, P50; Marionnaud N38 angled eyeliner and spoolie brush, around P60. We won’t include the clear mascara here because our imaginary P500 budget is stretched tight as it is; besides, the brow pencil lasts all day even on its own.

Hmm…we’ve reached the limit of our budget. But since we can choose not to include the BB cream, let’s add some more products!

3EYES: San San Waterproof Eyeliner Pen, P85. Very beginner friendly because it’s just like pencil liner, except it doesn’t smudge as easily.

CHEEKS: Careline Oil Control Blush, P80. The color you choose depends on your skin tone. Although it’s best to use a brush for blush, the tiny puff that comes with these is usable.

Aido Classic Lipsticks

LIPS: Aido Classic Lipstick, P50. There are a lot of colors to choose from, though they’re not available at all kiosks at all times. There’s a very pretty bright pink one I’m lemming for…but I don’t really need a new lipstick right now.

So there; all of these cost P719, but if you choose to skip the BB cream in favor of eyeliner, blush, and lipstick, it would only set you back P524. I skipped eyeshadow and mascara because if you’re on a tight budget, you don’t really need those to be pretty. Let’s admit, thought, a P500 budget is too tight! You need about P1000 to be able to buy a mascara and some brushes!

8. What is your skin type and the problems you had to deal with in association with it?

20130126-085050.jpgI’m very oily-skinned. I oil up within an hour of applying my makeup. One of the problems I have to deal with is excessive shine, of course. I have to blot often, like every couple of hours. I also deal with breakouts that are undoubtedly exacerbated by my oiliness.

9. Are there any changes in your beauty preferences since you began your journey?

20121216-112305.jpg

Yep! I prefer brushes for applying makeup now. I used to think of them as unnecessary; now I can’t see myself without them.

10. BONUS: Tell us anything you want.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again. Splurge on skin care, not makeup. Any brand of makeup looks perfect on great skin, but the most expensive makeup can’t hide bad skin.

MY NOMINEES FOR THE LIEBSTER AWARD

1. Raisie Speaks

2. Holy Grail Beauty Haul

3. Dazzler Makeup and Beauty Blog

4. The Ukay Closet

5. Sassy Rainbow

6. Queen B

7. Patrine’s Thoughts

8. Beauty With Kimchii Mommy

9. Some Girl Named Jem

10. Eyahnism

QUESTIONS FOR MY NOMINEES

1. What’s your skin type? If you were to choose a different skin type (EXCEPT NORMAL), what would it be and why?

2. Which would you prefer: a premium makeup product worth thousands of pesos or a makeup loot consisting of drugstore products worth the same? Why?

3. Are you willing to fork over more than P500 for a lipstick? Why or why not?

4. What’s the ONE makeup/skin care product you want to try the most and why? What’s hindering you from trying it?

5. What color do you wish your hair is?

6. What’s your go-to face base?

7. Do you think face primers are necessary? Why or why not?

8. Which are you more likely to sport when going out: green or purple eyeshadow?

9. Which looks better on you–red or nude lipstick?

10. Given a chance to undergo cosmetic surgery, would you take it? If so, what procedure would you undergo? If not, why?

That’s it! If you weren’t tagged but want to answer the questions, go ahead then link your answers to me or post them in the comments box so I can read them. Thank you!

8 comments on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Shari says:

    Love your answers to the questions 🙂 Straight, direct-to-the-point and very honest! I enjoyed reading this entry!

  2. Rattus says:

    Thanks for answering Aviva! And I agree, alot of good lipsticks are within reasonable price, some local products are even better than the expensive ones and they deserve some credit. =)

  3. eyahnismyah says:

    Thanks for tagging me along!!! 🙂 I love your choices of makeup.. Its true that we don’t need to shell out money to find good products. my favorite lipsticks are from wet n wild bec. they are so cheap and has good color payoff 🙂

  4. Dear Aviva I have answered your questions and also tagged other bloggers. Thank you for the tag!

    http://eljovenlector.blogspot.com/2013/06/raisie-takes-on-liebster-award.html

Thoughts?

