Human Nature Peppermint Lip Balm

Human Nature makes great, all-natural lip balms free from petroleum products. Those of you who are used to the glide of petrolatum-containing balms may find the texture of Human Nature balms waxy at first, but you’ll eventually get used to it.

Human Nature’s lip balms currently come in four variants. I’ve tried Choco Fudge and thought it was the bomb…until I tried Peppermint.

ImageChoco Fudge smells like a combination of coffee and toffee and perhaps a bit of chocolate. I looked forward to every time I had to apply lip balm because it smelled delicious! I ran out of it, unfortunately, so I went to Sesou Trinoma to buy another one. They only had Peppermint and Tutti Frutti so I went for the former. Surprisingly, I liked it better than Choco Fudge, something I didn’t think was possible. Peppermint smells like candy canes, plus it gives my lips a refreshingly minty sensation just after I apply it. Both Choco Fudge and Peppermint are yummy, but Choco Fudge is warm while Peppermint is cool. I’ll get both of them when I run out of balms!

Unlike petrolatum-based balms that only form a barrier against moisture loss, Human Nature balms actually nourish your lips. Just take a look at the ingredients and you’ll see what I mean:

Ricinus communis (castor) oil, beeswax, Theobroma cacao(cocoa) butter, caprylic/capric triglyceride, Mentha piperita (peppermint) essential oil, Helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil Calendula officinalis (marigold) extract, Rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) extract, tocopherol

Furthermore, Human Nature lip balms feel lightweight instead of greasy. Also, it doesn’t hurt that they’re more affordable than the usual lip balms at P64.75. Combined with proper hydration and nutrition, regular use of Human Nature lip balms will prevent chapped lips over time. Of course, if your lips are prone to dryness like mine, you’ll always need lip balm as our lips can’t moisturize themselves.

The two things I don’t like about Human Nature lip balms is that their caps are loose. You’ll probably find them in your bag at least once with their caps off. Also, they don’t have SPF because the product developers haven’t found a way to find a natural alternative to sunscreen yet.

Now, let’s summarize:

HUMAN NATURE PEPPERMINT LIP BALM

The Good

  • Smells like candy canes
  • Gives a refreshing minty feel to the lips
  • Truly moisturizes the lips
  • Feels lightweight
  • Very affordable at P64.75

The Bad

  • Loose caps. Seems like they haven’t properly addressed this issue yet
  • No SPF

Go ahead and try them already if you haven’t yet! Don’t just protect your lips from moisture loss; feed them with skin food.

2 comments on “Human Nature Peppermint Lip Balm

  1. Hi sis! 🙂 I’m having my first blog giveaway in partner with A BONNE Beauty Philippines. I hope you can join. 🙂

    http://www.pinayontheloose.com/2013/03/blog-giveaway-1-bonnes-summer-kick-off.html

    By the way, you have a lovely blog. 🙂

Thoughts?

