Human Nature 100% Natural Premium Deodorant in Powder Fresh

I was fascinated by the idea of natural deodorants so when I saw that Human Nature had some, I tried them. The first one I tried was what’s now called their classic deo. It had a lovely floral fruity fragrance, but it had to be applied twice a day. Now, they released a premium deo that promised “longer odor protection”, and that’s what I’m gonna be reviewing today.
20130207-143726.jpg

It costs about the same as commercial deodorants. It also contains roughly the same amount of product. I don’t like the scent at all; it smells like old people to me. At first, the smell is overpowering, but you’ll get used to it in time. Some people like the smell, so it’s really a matter of preference.

These are its ingredients:
Aqua, glycerin, zea mays starch (cornstarch), triethyl citrate (plant derived), stearyl alcohol, Helianthus annuus (sunflower) oil, sodium caprinoyl (vegetable derived), lauroyl lactylate (vegetable derived), fragrance (all natural), glyceryl stearate, glyceryl caprylate (coconut, palm and glycerin derived), xanthan gum, p-anisic acid (anise seed derived)

The product is milky and translucent but dries clear…in about five minutes. So don’t put your clothes on immediately after applying this deo. It doesn’t stain fabric (eww yellowish armpit stains on your clothes! a deodorant I used to buy a long time ago gave a few of my clothes this disgusting souvenir), but you want deo on your skin, not on your clothes.

I asked someone from Human Nature if this lasts all day, and it does! Unlike the classic deos, you’ll only need to apply this once a day (assuming you take a bath only once a day). I also noticed that chitosan, the antibacterial ingredient present in the classic deos, isn’t in the premium variant. My wild guess is that it’s the culprit for the skin irritation reported by many reviewers of the classic deos. The classic variant makes my pits itch, but the premium one doesn’t. It doesn’t prevent sweating, but it does keep odor at bay. The problem is, I find its performance inconsistent. One time, after walking briskly outdoors, I noticed that the deo failed to protect me. However, it keeps me from smelling when I exercise. When I stay indoors, sometimes it works, other times it doesn’t. It’s frustrating not to know when your deo will work for you!

On the flip side, it keeps my pits soft and smooth. Commercial deos don’t have the same effect on my skin, probably because they leave a film of product. I don’t know for certain. All I know is that Human Nature’s deo sort of blends into the skin such that you almost can’t detect it if not for the scent. And if commercial deos irritate your skin (a friend told me that Dove deodorant, which I used to love before I found Human Nature because it didn’t have adverse effects on me, darkened her pits), this deo might be gentler. There’s no guarantee, though, because a number of Mother Nature’s gifts are irritating to the skin. Poison ivy, for example. Lastly, it can be removed by just soap and water. Other deos require scrubbing for complete removal.

Now, let’s summarize:

HUMAN NATURE 100% NATURAL PREMIUM DEODORANT IN POWDER FRESH

The Good

  • Same price point and volume as commercial deos
  • Protects from odor
  • Doesn’t stain clothes
  • Keeps pits soft and smooth
  • Can be removed with just soap and water

The Bad

  • Inconsistent odor protection


Ah, it has only one bad point, but what are deos for if not for constant odor protection? Sadly, I won’t repurchase this. It’s not practical to buy Human Nature deos for home use and commercial deos for outside use. I’m currently checking out a deodorant in powder form. It works well for the feet; let’s see if it works just as well for the pits.

One comment on “Human Nature 100% Natural Premium Deodorant in Powder Fresh

  1. Everything is very open with a clear description of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your website is very helpful. Thanks for sharing!

Thoughts?

