Revlon ColorStay Liquid Foundation for Oily/Combination Skin in 300 Golden Beige

The Revlon ColorStay liquid foundation comes in a simple cylindrical glass bottle with an open mouth. It contains a standard 30mL (1 fl oz) of product. In department stores here in the Philippines, it retails for P800+ (around $20). I got mine from an online shop called Bon Marche for only P500 (around $12), closer to its actual US price. It did not come with a seal, so I don’t know if it’s been tampered with. I’ve read that drugstore makeup in the US are often, uh, played with owing to the lack of testers.
20130125-100559.jpg

The number one gripe about this product is the lack of a pump. Personally, I don’t mind that it has no pump. I always manage to get the right amount on the back of my hand.
20130125-100809.jpg

I found my shade thanks to Temptalia Foundation Matrix and blog reviews. 300 Golden Beige is said to be the most yellow of all the ColorStay shades, so I didn’t hesitate to pick it up. Well, it’s a match, but the undertone is all wrong. When applied, my face looks a tad too pink compared to my neck and chest, especially on the first hour after application. Fortunately, it blends into the skin as the day goes by. If Golden Beige is the most yellow shade they have, I’m sorry to say it’s still too beige. I wish Revlon would take warm skin into consideration.
20130125-101650.jpg

The foundation is runny, which is ironic for what is said to be a medium-full coverage foundation. It has a strong smell in the bottle, but on my skin it smells a bit floral. The scent doesn’t stay long, thank goodness. I like using Marionnaud’s regular angled blush brush to stipple and buff the foundation into my skin. It works well and the angled shape helps me get into the nooks and crannies of my face. The foundation dries really fast so I work in sections. Once it sets, it’s almost impossible to blend it further with a brush. Fortunately, a sponge can do the job, so I use one to blend areas of foundation that have become cakey, particularly on the nose area.

I learned from Project Vanity to concentrate foundation on the outer zones of the face, which are not as noticeable as the center. This technique creates a more natural finish in that it prevents obvious cakiness. In my case, my problem areas are on the outer zones of my face so that’s really where I need the most coverage. I apply the foundation inwards so I get the least product on the center of my face. Applied carefully and correctly, the foundation looks close to skin.

I was disappointed with the product’s coverage; my expectations were heightened by positive reviews. A thin layer is sufficient to even out my skin tone and cover my dark circles, but after three layers, my acne scars are still visible. Granted, they’re not as obvious as when I have a bare face, but…for something that cakes up so easily, I expected fuller coverage.

Oil control is definitely better than most foundations I’ve tried, but it’s nothing to write home about. I usually oil up within just an hour (!) after I apply foundation, but ColorStay keeps oil at bay for maybe three to four hours.

The great thing about this foundation is that it stays and stays…and stays. I once had it on for about 14 hours. You can sneeze into a tissue, pat sweat from your face, bury your face into someone else’s shirt, and go to bed–the foundation will still be on your face. I’ve read that it can even stay through a workout. I have no doubts about that. I mean, to remove this foundation completely, I have to go over my face twice with coconut oil and tissue, wash thoroughly, then apply toner twice. Removal takes so much effort that I only wear this foundation in situations when I know I won’t get a chance to blot often.

A number of people complain that ColorStay breaks them out. I don’t get pimples from it despite my skin being acne-prone, probably because I’m conscientious about taking it off completely. I have enough acne scars as it is; I don’t need more! The lesson here is that you need to exert as much effort in removing makeup as in putting it on. Or don’t use long-wear makeup if you’re a wash-and-wear type of person.

Let’s summarize:
REVLON COLORSTAY LIQUID FOUNDATION FOR C/O SKIN IN 300 GOLDEN BEIGE

The Good

  • Long-wearing and transfer-resistant
  • Better than other foundations at controlling oil

The Bad

  • Not yellow enough; the shade range isn’t friendly to warm skin
  • Scent might be offensive to some
  • Sets very quickly, thereby facilitating the occurence of cakiness
  • Doesn’t completely cover my acne scars (which are bad, but not THAT bad!)
  • Difficult to remove (because it’s long-wearing and transfer-resistant)


Huh! I see that there are more bad points than good. Will I repurchase? Hmm. I’ll try ColorStay Whipped Creme next time and see which is better. I do appreciate how ColorStay can last more than 12 hours, though, and how it controls oil for longer.

UPDATE (May 2013)

I’ve found that this is best applied with fingers in order to prevent caking. I just rub makeup remover on my hands and wipe them with baby wipes to remove the foundation after I apply it.

10 comments on “Revlon ColorStay Liquid Foundation for Oily/Combination Skin in 300 Golden Beige

  1. Didn’t you complain to your online seller?:o What did they have to say about it?

  2. faye says:

    Is the Bon Marche a legit seller? Is it not just a scam?

  3. Jena Pastor says:

    I have this foundation and it would have been my holy grail IF it had a more yellow tone. I have the same problem as yours: Revlon ColorStay turns pinkish-beige after application. What I do is apply Ben Nye banana powder to counteract the pinkish tint.

Thoughts?

