Ever Bilena Matte Lipstick in Love That Red

Ever Bilena Matte Lipsticks are apparently the bestselling lipsticks of the brand. A lot of women love them. And why not? They’re affordable at P155 (under $4), they come in a fairly wide range of safe shades from neutrals through pinks to reds, and they are ubiquitous–it’s nearly impossible not to find them.

My first Ever Bilena matte lipstick is called Love That Red, a blue-based true red shade.
20130108-000539.jpg
It comes in a matte black rectangular rubber tube with a swatch cap that actually contains a sample of the lipstick itself, so it shows the color fairly accurately. Of course, the color that would show up on your lips depends partly on your skin tone.

These are its ingredients:
Ethylhexyl palmitate, ceresin wax, isopropyl myristate, silicon dioxide, polybutene, cera alba, tocopheryl acetate, propyl paraben, BHA (may contain CI 7709, CI 77492, CI 77891, CI 77491, CI 77499, CI 15850:1, CI 15850, CI 45410:2, CI 15850:2)

Its net weight is 4g and it is made in China. Mine was manufactured recently, in October 2012.

It’s not richly pigmented, so it would take a lot of swipes to get its true color to show up. At first I thought it was a weak, pinkish red, lacking the intensity of NYC Retro Red. But after more than five layers (!), it turned out to be a really beautiful color. Quite a head-turner too, especially in sunlight. This is how it looks in artificial light:
20130108-001712.jpg
I love its texture; it’s just how I want my lipsticks to be. It neither slides nor tugs; it has enough slip to glide smoothly on your lips, but it has enough drag to convince you that it can stay on your lips. Slippery lipsticks tend to slide off very easily.

It has virtually no scent and taste. Well, I detected a faint plasticky smell, but that was only when I practically put the lipstick up my nose.

The packaging feels sturdy, but I’ve read that the label easily fades. Also, the swatch cap will come off in time. It would be best to have glue ready. I’m not sure if this is an isolated case since nobody else has complained about it, but the twisting mechanism of my lipstick is a little loose, such that the action of swiping on my lips pushes back the lipstick into the tube. It’s my first time to experience such a thing, and it’s mildly annoying.

Like most matte lipsticks, it does not help in the moisturizing department. A thin layer of lip balm underneath is recommended. What I do is pack on lip balm while I do my face, then blot it with tissue until it’s almost gone when it’s time to apply lipstick. I find that this does not affect the finish of the lipstick at all. Speaking of finish, I wouldn’t call this a matte lipstick. It has a slight sheen to it. It’s really semi-matte like the Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast lipsticks. This doesn’t bother me as it will end up matte eventually when the moisturizers (or whatever gives it sheen) fade.

Love That Red has been compared to MAC Ruby Woo. You can see for yourself in this post. I think they’re highly similar in terms of color, aren’t they? If you want a truly matte lipstick, go for Ruby Woo. Or save yourself P800+ and just blot Love That Red with tissue to remove the sheen.

This lipstick isn’t easily removed all at once. It leaves a stain behind, which I like because I’m left with reddish lips after eating. It’s jarring to sport red lips then be left with completely bare lips after a meal. The contrast makes you look rather pale afterwards.

To maximize the lipstick, use it as a cream blush and/or a lip stain. For sheer, juicy red lips, apply a thin coat then top with gloss.

Now, let’s summarize:
EVER BILENA MATTE LIPSTICK IN LOVE THAT RED

The Good

  • Affordable at P155
  • Widely available
  • Has an accurate swatch cap
  • Comes in a wide range of safe shades
  • Easy to apply but not too slippery
  • Virtually no scent and taste
  • Leaves a stain behind

The Bad

  • Not richly pigmented; takes more than five layers to make true color show up
  • Label on tube easily fades; swatch cap eventually comes off
  • Not a true matte


Even though Love That Red has a cool undertone and NYC Retro Red a warm one, they look almost the same on me–an attention-getting red. Retro Red is just a bit louder because it’s glossy. However, I prefer Love That Red because it’s clean and intact; my Retro Red is all messed up because it snapped off its base. Also, Love That Red has no scent and taste. Finally, Love That Red is less prone to bleeding because it’s not as creamy and glossy as Retro Red.

I recommend Ever Bilena Matte Lipsticks to everyone. I wish that my post has made it clear why this line is popular with a lot of girls.

Maybe I’d repurchase; I’m eyeing Pink Flame, their highly popular medium pink shade. It looks a bit like Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast in Rose-Bud but warmer, which is exactly how I like my pinks. I won’t buy it just yet because I already have enough pinks in my stash. However, Nichido Juicy Lips in Raspberry Float is also a pretty, warm pink. It’s more affordable at P88 too. But maybe I’ll get Pink Flame next time just because I’ve already tried Raspberry Float.

One comment on “Ever Bilena Matte Lipstick in Love That Red

Thoughts?

