Maybelline Baby Lips in Berry Crush

20130102-141003.jpg
I got the idea of using white paper as background from Dain of Ars Aromatica. It’s so simple, really; I wonder why I didn’t think of it before. The advantage of using a white background is that I can more easily neutralize a photo’s tint.

Anyway, here’s a quick review of Maybelline Baby Lips in Berry Crush.

I know I said I wouldn’t be purchasing lip balms with petrolatum, but I lost my Human Nature tinted lip balm, and I had to have a replacement ASAP, so I just rushed off to the department store and picked up Maybelline Baby Lips. It was on sale for P80 (about $2), so it cost me around the same as Human Nature. I’m rather iffy about this product, though; just thinking about how I ingest petrolatum every time I drink and eat with this on makes me shudder. After all, I wouldn’t willingly lick petroleum jelly off the rim of a jar, would I?

It’s just the same as their previous line of tinted lip balms, Maybelline Lip Smooth Color and Care. Even the scent is the same. Berry Crush is just Cranberry Jam, repackaged. Nothing new–same SPF of 16, same moisture retention properties due to petrolatum, same slightly reddish-pink glossy effect on lips. As I mentioned in my review of Cranberry Jam, this lip balm lasts longer than non-petrolatum-containing lip balms because petrolatum isn’t absorbed by the skin; it just sits there, acting as a barrier. So it’s a good product to use for protection against cold, sunburn, and windburn. Just remember to drink lots of water to hydrate your skin from the inside; it helps in preventing chapped lips. This lip balm doesn’t last for 6 hours as claimed, though; it fades in as little as 3 hours.

Now, let’s summarize:

MAYBELLINE BABY LIPS IN BERRY CRUSH

The Good

  • Affordable at P80
  • Protects lips against moisture loss
  • Gives a sheer, colored, glossy effect to lips

The Bad

  • Just the same as Maybelline Lip Smooth Color and Care line
  • Petrolatum content makes me iffy about using it
  • Six-hour staying power claim is false


Overall, I like it because it’s easier to apply than Human Nature tinted lip balm in Flame Tree; it’s less pigmented, so I don’t really need a mirror to see if I messed up in putting it on.

2 comments on “Maybelline Baby Lips in Berry Crush

  1. Abby says:

    I’m also big on lip balm, this might be a good product to try! 🙂

Thoughts?

