Some Eye Brushes: Marionnaud, Artist Studio, Fashion 21

Like I mentioned in a previous post, I’m just starting to play around with eyeshadows. The brushes I’m gonna review are my first four eye brushes.
20121216-142118.jpg

MARIONNAUD N35 EYESHADOW BRUSH
20121216-142249.jpg
20121216-142340.jpg
20121216-142357.jpg
The Marionnaud N35 eyeshadow brush, which is from the regular line, costs around P70 and is available in Watsons stores. It has a short handle, perfect for personal use. Doesn’t smell, bleed, or shed. The synthetic bristles are stiff, the complete opposite of what I expected. This is intended for cream eyeshadows and concealers, something I only found out later. However, I find it easier to apply cream products with my fingers, so this is useless to me. I wish I didn’t buy it.

MARIONNAUD N37 POINTED EYESHADOW BRUSH
20121216-142930.jpg
20121216-143131.jpg
20121216-143140.jpg
The Marionnaud N37 pointed eyeshadow brush is also from the regular line and costs around P80. It has synthetic bristles, which are soft but sturdy and non-scratchy. Doesn’t smell, bleed, or shed. I use this to apply eyeshadow on my outer v and crease, although I have discovered that it’s easier to just pat on color using a small eyeshadow brush on those areas. To some extent, this can be used for blending. Its pointed tip makes it useful for applying eyeshadow on the lower lash line, but since I don’t put makeup there, I’m beginning to see that this was another useless purchase.

ARTIST STUDIO BLENDING BRUSH
20121216-143933.jpg
20121216-143943.jpg
20121216-143955.jpg
Artist Studio brushes can be found in Landmark. Apparently, they have two lines: one is characterized by longer handles, two-toned bristles, and a pink ferrule while the other is characterized by brown bristles and black handles and ferrules. This particular blending brush costs P69.75, ten pesos more than the two-toned blending brush from the other line. However, it’s softer. The other one is prettier, but it felt like it might poke my eyes! All Artist Studio brushes are not labeled; you have to be familiar with makeup brushes and how each of them are used. Of course, you could always find your own uses for any brush!

I love this brush. It blends and smokes out eyeshadows perfectly. It’s not scratchy at all. And it doesn’t smell, bleed, or shed. Compared to the eye brushes in Marionnaud’s regular line, its handle is pretty long.

FASHION 21 BIG EYESHADOW BRUSH
20121216-150321.jpg
20121216-150332.jpg
20121216-150340.jpg
Fashion 21 has two kinds of eyeshadow brushes: this and a smaller one. This costs P85 while the smaller one costs P65. They actually call this a blending brush. Well, like Marionnaud’s pointed eyeshadow brush, this can be used for blending to some extent. However, it is best used for applying powder eyeshadow all over the lids. The smaller one can be used to apply color on the outer corners of the eyes. It’s not perfectly soft unlike the Artist Studio blending brush; sometimes it feels scratchy. This may be due to the fact that some hairs are shorter than the others. I still love it, though. It changed my mind about applying powder eyeshadow with my fingers. I found that using a brush helps get colors to show up a little better, not to mention I don’t end up with multicolored fingertips. And like all the brushes mentioned here, it doesn’t smell, bleed, or shed.


For makeup beginners like me, it’d be great to start out with Fashion 21 big eyeshadow brush for the lids and browbone, Fashion 21 small eyeshadow brush for the outer v and crease, and Artist Studio blending brush (brown bristles, not the two-toned ones) to pull everything together. These three brushes will only set you back P219.75. Not bad for quality brushes, right? Of course, it’ll also be great to buy a whole set. Beauty Cosmetics sells complete brush sets, which have earned good reviews, for around P1,000, definitely more affordable than buying individual brushes. The designs leave something to be desired in the creativity department, though, as many brush sets look a lot like Sigma’s.

Thoughts?

