Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast Matte Lip Color in Spiked With Rum

One blogger I’m subscribed to mentioned that she got her Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast lipsticks from Suzanne’s Emporium, an online shop on Facebook, for only P100 each. Whoa! Way cheaper than the department store price of P299, and still lower than nyxwholesaleph.com‘s price of P115. Did I mention that the lipsticks were onhand too?

Unfortunately, practically everything was sold out when I headed over to Suzanne’s Emporium. Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast lipsticks are quite popular now. At a price that affordable, you’d really expect them to sell like hotcakes.

Fortunately, though, there was an auction going on. Long story short, I won myself a bottle of Victoria’s Secret Vanilla Lace body mist (I loooooove vanilla) and a tube of Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast lipstick in Spiked With Rum. The best part is that I got the lipstick for a freakin’ P55. Excellent.
20121213-095025.jpg
Yes, this is authentic! Besides, I haven’t heard of WnW Megalast lipsticks being counterfeited. I think the reason they’re so affordable is that all of them were damaged in transit. Look:
20121213-095325.jpg
All their WnW lipsticks were sealed, so it could only mean that they weren’t handled carefully during their trip from the US to the Philippines. Ah, this is what happens when product designers insist on protruding lipstick bullets! Had the lipsticks been fully retractable, the case would’ve prevented them from being distorted.

Anyway, here’s a swatch on my hand:
20121213-102331.jpg

And here’s how it looks on my lips:
20121213-102517.jpg

I must say, this is the color I expected WnW Megalast in Rose-Bud (which I also did a review on) to be. Spiked With Rum is a plummy rose brown color on me. Based on photos, I expected Spiked With Rum to be reddish brown, but I was once again surprised. I wonder why WnW Megalast lipsticks turn cooler on me?

The formula is creamy and opaque, which is the reason I love this lipstick. It has no odor and taste. It has a slight sheen upon application, but wait a while and it’ll dry to a matte finish. I don’t find it drying, but it will accentuate lines and flakes on dry lips, so it’s best to prep your lips with balm. The color lasts for more than 4 hours, but I always completely remove my lipstick when eating, so I have no idea if this is food-proof.

The black coating on my other WnW Megalast melted after I left the lipstick in the car, so I won’t make that mistake again. The protruding bullet makes nicking an inevitable occurrence, so just be careful with taking off and replacing the cap. The casing feels flimsy, so don’t drop this lipstick. It probably won’t survive the fall.

Now, let’s summarize:

WET ‘N’ WILD MEGALAST LIPSTICK

The Good

  • Creamy and opaque formula
  • No scent and taste
  • Affordable (depending on where you get it)
  • Color lasts for more than 4 hours

The Bad

  • Protruding bullet
  • Flimsy packaging
  • Black outer coating of the tube melts in hot environments

WnW Megalast lipsticks are gems enclosed in a poorly designed and flimsy tube. I’m not rough with my lipsticks, so I wouldn’t mind repurchasing. If Suzanne’s Emporium restocks these, I’ll definitely be getting a red one as I don’t have a matte red lipstick.

I’d recommend these to lovers of matte lipsticks. If you have dry lips, you’re better off with moisturizing lipsticks because admit it, mattes look unsightly on dehydrated lips.

Thoughts?

