Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast Matte Lip Color in Rose-Bud

I ordered a tube of Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast Matte Lip Color from nyxwholesaleph.com after reading good reviews about it. I got my lipstick after a month. The wait was worth it, though–the online shop sells it for only P115 (a little under $3), far less expensive than its department store price of P299. It’s even cheaper than the famous Ever Bilena Matte Lipsticks! So how did Wet ‘n’ Wild fare?

Wet n Wild Megalast Matte Lip Color in Rose-Bud

I got the shade Rose-Bud. Based on descriptions and various swatches I saw online, Rose-Bud was of a pink-brown rose color. This is how it looks on my arm:

Arm swatch

I was annoyed to find that on my skin, it looks more bright pink than a muted, brownish rose. This is how it looks on my lips:

On lips

It’s a pretty color and I quite like it, but it’s different from what I expected, so I’m not fully satisfied. Ah, you never really know how a lipstick shade will look until you put it on your lips.

I love its quality, though! The 4-hour wear time claim is true. It can actually last for more than 4 hours without fading, provided you don’t eat, drink, or lick your lips. I did not find it to be drying, but it would be best to apply a thin layer of lip balm before putting it on because if your lips are dry, the product would settle into the lines. If your lips can’t help but be dry, I suggest blending the color with a finger after application for a smoother, more even finish. This lipstick is opaque, creamy, and very easy to apply. It’s not waxy at all! It has a slight sheen the first few minutes after application, but it eventually settles into a matte (but not flat) finish. It’s lightweight so it’s like there’s nothing on your lips at all. It’s odorless and tasteless too, which is just perfect.

My only gripe is the packaging. It’s flimsy and probably wouldn’t stand dropping. Also, the lipstick bullet sticks out so it’ll definitely get nicked once in a while. Lastly, I don’t know what the hell happened to my tube, but the bottom part (where you hold the lipstick when you’re applying it) sort of melted into a rubbery mess. Now my fingers get these greasy black marks every time I use the lipstick.

Yes, I would surely repurchase! Lipstick with great quality for only P115? I’d definitely buy more when I finish my other tubes of lipstick! It doesn’t hurt that they have a fairly wide selection of shades ranging from nudes to pinks to reds. I wish I had a friend in the US; these are cheaper by about a dollar in some places.

2 comments on “Wet ‘n’ Wild Megalast Matte Lip Color in Rose-Bud

  1. It probably melted while in transit. 😦 That’s why I don’t buy lipstick online because I need to swatch it first to really determine whether I like it or not. Try LA Colors or LA Girl sa Watson’s. They have Lipsticks around PHP99 lang. Not bad din the quality 🙂

    • Aviva says:

      I don’t know if it melted in transit because it was fine when I received it. Maybe it melted from the heat in the car. Yeah, I’ve tried a tube of LA Colors lipstick! It’s pretty good.

Thoughts?

