Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Cherry Tart

Revlon lip butters became wildly popular (in other countries, at least) some time ago. Some people didn’t like it, but most loved it so much they hoarded it. As for me, here are my thoughts on this product.

Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter

As I’ve mentioned before, Revlon products are ridiculously overpriced here in the Philippines. Can you imagine, these lip butters cost P525 ($12.36) here! Good thing I found Bon Marche, an online store selling a selection of makeup, among them Revlon. I got my lip butter for only P320 ($7.54), closer to its actual price. I originally wanted Candy Apple because it has such a catchy name and also because one of my characters in an online game used to be called Candy Apple. However, I read that it’s somewhat orange. I’ve bought a lip butter that looked red but registered orange before. I was afraid to make the same mistake, so I chose Cherry Tart.

This is how it looks when opened:

StickI quite like the metallic tube and the quilted cap showing the color of the lip butter, but it matters little because I don’t prioritize makeup packaging anyway.

Swiped once on my arm, it looks sheer:

Arm swatchCherry Tart is described as “jelly red”, and that’s exactly what it is. It’s a sheer red with tiny silver glitter that’s barely noticeable on the lips. It’s perfect for people who want a red that’s not of the in-your-face type.

This is how it looks on my lips:

On lipsThe finish is similar to that of a lip gloss’, only without the tackiness. Color and gloss fades in about three to four hours, but it fades evenly and leaves behind a rosy stain. It’s not really moisturizing, but it’s not as drying as lipstick.

I don’t like Revlon Lip Butter that much. After experiencing both moisturization and intense color from Bare Naturals Vitamin Stix Lip Butters, Revlon fell short. I do like the color, but I was expecting something richer. For P320, I get only a bit of product. Also, it’s so soft that I have to wipe some product off the rim every time I use it. It contains petrolatum, which acts as a skin barrier, so prolonged use would actually dry out my lips.

In short, I would not repurchase. Bare Naturals makes good lip butters. Also I saw a promising reddish lip butter from V&M Naturals. The shade is named Cherry Berry and reviews have shown it to be quite opaque! Bare Naturals lip butters cost P148 ($3.49) while V&M lip butters cost P185 ($4.36), both at a fraction of the price of Revlon lip butters. They’re made from natural emollients that have proven to be more moisturizing in the long run. They’re made in the Philippines too!

4 comments on “Revlon ColorBurst Lip Butter in Cherry Tart

  1. Aya says:

    I’ve read mixed reviews about these lip butters. I don’t think I’m gonna get some soon ‘coz I prefer more pigmented lippies. Thanks for the review! 🙂

  2. Aviva says:

    Maybe the new Kissable Balm Stains are better; I think they’re more pigmented. 🙂

  3. nikita2471 says:

    I found that some of the Revlon Lip Butters are hit & miss, depending on the color you picked. I have Berry Smoothie & Lollipop. I have to say that Lollipop is waaaay more moisturizing than Berry Smoothie and lasted longer on my lips (as far as color). Berry Smoothie wasn’t bad, I just felt I had to apply it more.

    • Aviva says:

      Yes, I read that about the Revlon Lip Butters too. That’s why a lot of the bloggers who bought them felt the need to make a separate review for each of the colors they picked.

Thoughts?

