Bare Naturals Vitamin Stix Lip Butters

I blogged about my online shopping at Zalora a few days ago and mentioned how easy it was. The waiting process wasn’t so easy, however; they said I’d receive my lip butter in 1-2 days and I got it in three. The courier himself was aggravating; he kept texting me to ask for directions. I’ve never met a courier who practically had to be shown the way. Sure, our place is pretty hard to find, but most couriers get here without so much as one text message.

Surprisingly, the lip butter came in this big-ass paper bag:

Paper bag

It was quite funny, but I was grateful for the paper bag. It’s sturdy and would make a great gift bag should I need one.

As for the lip butter, well, I loved it so much that I ordered another one the next day (plus a bath towel). I am happy to report that this time, the package arrived just one day later and the courier (a different guy) didn’t text me at all. That day was a happy one, actually; it was my brother’s birthday, but with all the goodies that arrived at my doorstep, it felt like it was mine too.

The paper bag incident was funny, but what’s even funnier is that my second order could’ve used a paper bag but I didn’t get one. But that’s fine; I don’t need another one anyway.

Now let’s move on to my review of Bare Naturals Vitamin Stix lip butters. These are basically lipstick-lip balm hybrids, are made of natural ingredients, and are inexpensive to boot! They cost only P148 ($3.53) per stick and come in five shades. I got Sugar Lips first. I liked it so as promised, I got Best Pout Forward too.

Bare Naturals Vitamin Stix

This is how they look when swiped once on my arm:

Arm swatches

L-R: Sugar Lips, Best Pout Forward

Sugar Lips is a bright berry pink (not reddish pink as I initially thought…or maybe it has something to do with my lips). It leaves a nice tint behind after eating. If you leave it on overnight, the pinkish tint is not so easy to remove in the morning.

Sugar Lips on lips

Best Pout Forward, which was touted to be an “intense red”, disappointingly isn’t red at all; it’s coral. It appeared orange in the photo so I had to do a lot of color correction. I think that like Human Nature, Bare Naturals doesn’t use carmine, a red dye derived from boiling certain insects; therefore, it doesn’t have a true red shade too. Well, the good thing is this would go well with my Careline Fresh Tomato blush, or it could serve as a base for my favorite pinkish coral Aido lipstick.

While Sugar Lips stays bright for hours, Best Pout Forward fades to a subtle warm reddish shade after, say, a couple of hours. The color is also wiped out after eating except at the perimeter of the lips, which is untouched by food, so I’m left with an unattractive ring around my mouth. Finally, this is waxier and patchier than Sugar Lips. How can two products made with the same ingredients be so different?

Best Pout Forward on lips

These lip butters have an odd peppermint-vanilla scent and taste. Familiar, but I can’t place it. The memory of the scent and taste seems to stem from my childhood. I hope I remember because it’s bugging me so much.

The best part about them is that they impart a lot of color while staying true to their lip balm nature. They make my lips look juicy while they’re on, and they leave my puckers soft and moisturized.

Unfortunately, they have no manufacturing and expiration date stamped on. I think it would be safe to assume they must be consumed within a year, like most natural cosmetics.

I’d recommend these to anyone who’d like a pop of color without the opacity of lipsticks and to those who don’t like layering lipsticks over lip balms.

EDIT: I now remember the taste. Filipino 90s kids will know what I’m talking about; these lip butters taste like those minute candy-covered mint balls piled inside juice straws.

3 comments on “Bare Naturals Vitamin Stix Lip Butters

  1. Aya says:

    I haven’t tried lip butters yet coz I prefer opaque lippies. Nice review 🙂

  2. […] used to be called Candy Apple. However, I read that it’s somewhat orange. I’ve bought a lip butter that looked red but registered orange before. I was afraid to make the same mistake, so I chose […]

Thoughts?

