LA Colors Mascara and Eyeliner Pencil

Picked these up a few months ago at my local LA Colors counter. What attracted me to this product was that it came in a three-piece pack: a mascara, pencil liner, and a sharpener, and it only cost P150 ($3.58) or so! The pack’s only $2.50 in the US, but meh, US drugstore products really cost more in the Philippines.

LA Colors mascara and eyeliner

I got the all-black pack, but this is also available in a brown mascara-black eyeliner combo. Let’s check out the eyeliner first.

It says eyeliner/brow pencil, but who in their right mind would use black for the brows? The texture of this pencil is between hard and creamy, so I find it easy to control the thickness of my line. This is how one swipe looks:

Eyeliner swatch

It’s not that pigmented, but a swipe is usually enough for my eyes; I feel the need for another swipe only if the gap between the liner and my lashes is visible. I have oily lids and I occasionally use this to make a subtle cat’s eye, but it neither disappears nor smudges. It doesn’t fade much, either. Take note that I never line my bottom lashes, so I can’t attest to whether lining them with this product will give you raccoon eyes at the end of the day. Also, please, it’s common sense that pencil liner will smudge when you rub your eyes. I don’t understand why some people rub their eyes when they have makeup on and then complain that their mascara and liner smudges! Geez, people! The heck!

Now, let’s move on to the mascara. Even when it was brand new, it didn’t give me clumpy and spidery lashes because of its thin formula. Besides its consistency, you can see from the brush below that this mascara is intended for lengthening:

Mascara brush

This dries in seconds, so you don’t have to worry about messed-up mascara when you blink after applying it. I curl my lashes before applying mascara, but this particular product takes away the curl, so maybe I shouldn’t bother curling anymore. However, I can forgive that because it gives me longer but natural-looking lashes. One coat usually does it for me, but I apply two coats then follow up with a spoolie if I want fuller lashes.

The mascara, like the eyeliner, isn’t waterproof, but it doesn’t smudge either. Also, it doesn’t flake. I haven’t tried crying with the mascara on. One time, though, I was wearing this mascara and my eyes got teary. When I looked in the mirror, both mascara and eyeliner were still intact.

The sharpener that came with the pack is just your average eyeliner sharpener, I think. It doesn’t have a special compartment for the pencil shavings, so I sharpen my pencils over a piece of tissue paper and then use the corner of the tissue to wipe creamy residue off the blade afterwards.

All in all, these products work well. I wouldn’t repurchase simply because I want to try several different brands. The only beauty products I repurchase are lip balms. Haha! There are a lot of brands out there to explore!

Thoughts?

