LA Passion Mineral Two-Way Powder

In my early days of wearing makeup, I only used Avon’s Simply Pretty Shine No More Dual Powder Foundation. I stopped using it for several reasons:

1. Limited shade choices. The one I got was too orange.

2. You can apply it with either a damp or dry sponge, but the powder itself hardens and cakes up when it comes in contact with moisture, rendering it useless.

3. It transfers to clothes.

4. I discovered liquid foundation.

I guess makeup is a cycle; you really can’t stick to one product forever. I’m going back to powder foundations again because they’re the best for oily skin. Liquid foundations are lovely and all, but they fail at oil control; my face is usually shiny even before I leave the house!

Now here’s the first powder foundation I’ve tried in a long while, LA Passion Mineral Two-Way Powder. Surprisingly, I didn’t find any reviews on it online.

Compact

It comes in a black, oval compact. The cherry blossom print and font choice are quite tacky, but that’s forgivable. It has a separate compartment for the sponge, and the bottom has holes in it to let a dampened sponge air-dry.

Back

It costs P396 ($9.46) for 7.2 grams of product, and is available in any LA Girls (different from LA Colors) counters. I don’t believe they have refills for this. The shade of this particular foundation is Dark Beige:

Inside

This is about two shades darker in person. It’s actually my mom’s foundation, so it’s a bit too dark for me. I like it, however. All the claims of being oil-free, silky, and long-wearing on the back are true. I applied it with a damp sponge and it was creamy and easily blendable. It makes me look tanned, but it still blends well into my skin. I wore it when I went out one day and six hours later, it was still intact. I only had to blot away some oil. Amazing! My oily skin has found its match. There’s a lot of fallout when you sweep a powder brush over it, so I prefer patting it on with the sponge when I have to retouch. It has a funny, grandmotherly kind of smell, but the scent is not overpowering so again, it’s forgivable.

It has good coverage; my face looked smoother with just one layer, and it covered my undereye circles. It can’t hide dark spots, though, so I had to pat on some cream concealer over those.

Finally, it doesn’t transfer to clothes! I wore a shirt with a white collar that day and I sweated a little, but when I removed my shirt the collar was still white. Of course it’ll come off when you rub your face into a piece of cloth, but that’ll happen with any kind of foundation.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I bought my own powder foundation, Fanny Serrano Two-Way Cake. Watch out for a review on that, as well as a compare/contrast with LA Passion Two-Way Powder.

5 comments on “LA Passion Mineral Two-Way Powder

  1. […] I mentioned previously, I’d like to compare these two powder […]

  2. Anne says:

    I’ve just tried this L.a passion powder and I could say that it is doing good on my very oily skin!! Thank you for the great review.

  3. Mari says:

    where can I get this products?

Thoughts?

