Two of San San’s Best: Foundation and Concealer

San San is a local cosmetics line sold exclusively in HBC stores, which are as ubiquitous as Jollibee and McDonald’s outlets. They offer affordable but generally good quality makeup, most of which have SPF, and all of which have vitamins and/or anti-aging ingredients. These are the reasons for their popularity with the ladies. I’ve tried several products from San San, and while I dislike their lipsticks for being too slippery, I am fond of the two products I’ll be reviewing shortly. These are the Matte Finish Liquid Foundation and the Concealer (yes, it’s called just that–Concealer).

San San Concealer and San San Matte Finish Liquid Foundation

L-R: Concealer, foundation

Matte Finish Liquid Foundation

Foundation ingredients and volume

Here’s the list of ingredients and the volume. Doesn’t have SPF.

My go-to foundation used to be San San’s mousse foundation because of all the foundations (local and foreign) I’ve tried, it was the only one to have kept my oiliness at bay. Take note that I don’t use a primer so my face would eventually oil up, but the mousse foundation kept retouching at a minimum. I didn’t have to dart into a washroom every hour, worrying that my face had become an oil slick. My only beef about it was that it gave me a horrible white cast in photos. My face looked fine in person, but in photos…ugh. Pancake face.

The matte finish liquid foundation was everything I liked in the mousse foundation minus the white cast. Here’s how it looks:

Foundation swatch

This is shade #2, recommended by the saleslady after a quick look at my face. I regretted believing her when I got home because I thought the shade was too light, but it actually blended well with my skin. The foundation’s texture is creamy and quite thick compared with many liquid foundations. I wouldn’t know if it feels heavy on the face because I’m not sensitive to that; having used foundation for many years, nothing less than four layers would feel heavy. This foundation comes with a spatula attached to the cap. A swipe or less of the spatula is enough for the whole face. I use a bit more for my neck, nape, and decolletage. It has medium coverage–it makes my skin look smooth, hides visible pores, and lightens dark spots. I use either concealer or another layer of this on my undereye circles.

Besides coverage and oil control, one of its best features is the price. You can’t go wrong with P130 (around $3) for 30 mL of product. I’ve been using it for 8 months now, can you believe that? With daily use, it will last 6-7 months.

As with all San San products, it has a creamy vanilla/cocoa butter scent. I happen to like vanilla, so I don’t mind. For those who dislike fragrance in their makeup, don’t fret because the scent goes away quickly.

Concealer

Concealer ingredients and weight

Here are the ingredients and the weight. It has SPF 15!

The concealer was a superfluous purchase. Having okay skin and not-so-terrible undereye circles, I don’t really need to pile layers of makeup on my face. I only bought it because it was on sale from P100+ to a mere P74! And I liked its thick and creamy texture when I swatched it in the store. “This here’s a real concealer,” I thought. Here’s how it looks:

Concealer swatch

The concealer in beige is has the same shade as the foundation in #2. The concealer does a great job of brightening my undereye area. The first time I tried it, I almost didn’t recognize myself because my eyes looked so fresh and awake. It can’t completely cover dark spots, but I don’t have a problem with that; my primary use for a concealer is hiding my dark circles.

Recently, though, I found another use for this concealer. For weeks, I scoured different HBC branches to replenish my foundation supply, which was fast dwindling, but all of them did not have shade #2 in stock. Unbelievable! I asked HBC about this, and I was informed that shade #2 is not available nationwide. Puzzling. I haven’t the slightest idea why this is so. If there’s a shade that’s not available nationwide, it ought to be shade #1 because it’s simply too light for the average Filipino. Well, because my foundation shade could not be found anywhere, I tried using my concealer as a foundation. Guess what, it worked. It has the same finish as the foundation. It doesn’t look cakey at all because I use just a little and blend it well with a damp sponge. It’s even better because I eliminated one product from my makeup routine; thus, I saved money. Even at the regular price of P100 something, the concealer is still less expensive than the foundation. Less bulky, too, so it’ll be easier to pack. It will also last me long because a little goes a long way and there’s a lot of product in the pan: 13 grams.

Besides being a review, this is also a story of how I found better and better deals–from the same product line, too! It is always rewarding to find an excellent product at an affordable price. Your makeup shouldn’t be expensive. Spend on skin care if you must, but not makeup, because only healthy skin will make you beautiful. No matter how expensive or glorified your foundation is, it will look cheap on bad skin.

10 comments on “Two of San San’s Best: Foundation and Concealer

  1. Awesome! I might try the concealer BUT do you have sensitive skin I’m oily but also sensitive 😦 Will the concealer still work?

    • Aviva says:

      I don’t seem to have sensitive skin because it doesn’t react to products that much, but it is acne-prone. I still have the concealer and it works, but it won’t completely conceal dark acne marks.

  2. I can’t believe there’s someone else out there who had tried using that concealer as a overall foundation! I found out about it when I had no more powder to use too, and I was shocked on how it turned out! My cousins thought I never had breakouts because it covers redness and dark circles very well. 😀

  3. skinnychiq says:

    Hi there!
    Did the two products compliment well? I’m using na kasi the San San Soleil Matte Foundation. So far it works good naman.

    Thanks!

    • Aviva says:

      The concealer works well for undereye circles but not so much for acne marks. The foundation is also good, but I like the new HD foundation line because it covers up better 🙂

      • skinnychiq says:

        talaga? im thinking of buying ung HD concealer kasi… i have 2 nasty pimple marks na kasing size na 5 centavo coin or mdyu maliit pa dun.. hindi siya nacconceal ng matte foundation ng san san eh.

        the question is pwde kea tong HD concealer ipag halo ko sa pressed powder ko na nichido? ma hide kea ung blemishes ko? thanks

        • Aviva says:

          Unfortunately, I haven’t tried San San’s HD concealer so I have no idea how it performs. But I wouldn’t advise mixing concealer with powder; it might get cakey. What you should do is pat concealer on your blemishes then set the concealer with powder so it doesn’t budge.

  4. Newt says:

    Do you advise using that concealer for oily skin or pawisin? 😊 Thank you ❤

Thoughts?

